Bricks Artist Programme

Bricks Artist Programme is a new initiative to support visual artists in and around Bristol. We’re doing this by creating a network of peer-to-peer mentoring and learning, skill sharing and critical thinking. Generosity and care is at the heart of our programme; we’re building a community of support for artists at different stages of their careers and lives.

Bricks Artist Programme launches summer 2020 with a six-month programme of activity funded by Arts Council England’s Emergency Response. Through this first six months we will test out ideas with our community and hope this lays the foundations for an ongoing programme of work.  

We’ve launched a number of paid opportunities through micro-commissions for Associate Artists to test out new ideas, workshops and a podcast series for artists to explore their research in more depth. These will be launched publicly over the next few months.  

We are also running an online sales platform, offering additional income opportunities for both artists and Bricks, helping to support local economy and artists to diversity their income models.

Artists will contribute to a weekly public talks programme, showing the rich and varied approaches to making art in the south west currently. Raising the profile of our diverse practices will help us advocate for more artist-led spaces, studios and exhibition opportunities in Bristol, making stronger individual practices and a stronger sector together.

Join our mailing list in the footer to be the first to hear of the new commissions, talks and future activity.

Associate Artists

Áine Kelly, Alec Stevens, Alice Cunningham, Alice Sheppard Fidler, Alyson Minkley, Amy Butlin, Anna Haydock-Wilson, Annabel Other, Anouk Mercier, Anton Goldenstein, Ayan Cilmi, Barbara Ash, Becki Hiscocks, Ben Hartley, Beth Luxton, Bo Lanyon, Carol Laidler, Catherine Knight, Charles Emerson, Clare Thatcher, Cliff Andrade, Courtenay Welcome, David Chalmers Alesworth, Dean Coates, Dorcas Casey, Eleanor Shipman, Emma Gregory, Finn Dovey, Fra Beecher, Frances Kelly, Francesca McColl, Frea Buckler, George Harding, Hannah Murgatroyd, Helen Acklam, Huma Mulji, Ian Chamberlain, Isobel Manley, James Mortimer, Janie George, Jemma Gunning, Jessa Fairbrother, Jessica Akerman, Jessie Edwards-Thomas, Jo Ball, Jo Lathwood, Joe Warrior-Walker, Josh Adam Jones, Jude Hutchen, Karolina Ptaszkowska, Kate Evans, Leslie Glenn Damhus, Lisa Cole, Lisa Davies, Lou Baker, Lucy Ward, Marcus Jefferies, Matthew Lintott, Matthew Roy Arnold, Max Naylor, Megan Clark-Bagnall, Milo Newman, Nicola Grellier, Olivia Jones, Philippa Lawrence, Phillipa Klaiber, Rodney Harris, Ryan Convery-Moroney, Steve Burden, Thomas Williams, Tim Lane, Vicky Smith, Victoria Walters, Yuko Edwards, Zahra Hoccom.

Forthcoming public programme

  • Six part podcast series with a different artist taking the lead on each episode.
  • Six micro commissions supporting the development of new creative work. 
  • A workshop series for artists on core skills needed to support their practice.


  • Jessica Akerman

    Artist Programme Producer


The first six months of this programme are funded by Arts Council England Covid19 response grant. Big thanks to Arts Council England and National Lottery, the players of whom fund projects like these around the country.